Lord Foul's Bane, Holt, 1977
  The Illearth War, Holt, 1977
  The Power that Preserves, Holt, 1977
  "The Lady in White," The Year's Finest Fantasy 2, ed. Terry Carr, Berkley, 1979
  The Wounded Land, Del Rey/Ballantine, 1980
  The Man Who Killed His Brother (as Reed Stephens), Ballantine, 1980; (as Stephen R. Donaldson), Tor, 2002
  Gilden-Fire, Underwood-Miller, 1981
  Cinderella vs The Publishing Business, Wooster Alumni Magazine, 1981
  The One Tree, Del Rey/Ballantine, 1982
  "Mythological Beast," Unicorns!, ed. Jack Dann and Gardner Dozois, Ace, 1982
  White Gold Wielder, Del Rey/Ballantine, 1983
  Daughter of Regals, Donald M. Grant, 1984
  Daughter of Regals and Other Tales, Del Rey/Ballantine, 1984
  The Man Who Risked His Partner (as Reed Stephens), Ballantine, 1984; (as Stephen R. Donaldson), Tor, 2003
  "What Makes Us Human," The 1985 Annual World's Best SF, ed. Donald A. Wollheim, DAW, 1985
  "Elegy," The Wooster Review, ed. Katherine Harper and Warren Hedges, #3, Spring 1985
  "Animal Lover," Tin Stars, ed. Isaac Asimov, Martin H. Greenberg, and Charles G. Waugh, Signet/NAL, 1986
  "Epic Fantasy in the Modern World: A Few Observations," Kent State University Libraries, 1986
  Mordant's Need: The Mirror of Her Dreams, Del Rey/Ballantine, 1986
  "The Books That Made a Difference," American Bookseller, ed. Ginger Curwen, Booksellers Publishing, Inc., June 1987
  Mordant's Need: A Man Rides Through, Del Rey/Ballantine, 1987
  "Unworthy of the Angel," A Very Large Array, ed. Melinda M. Snodgrass, University of New Mexico Press, 1987
  "The Djinn Who Watches Over the Accursed," Arabesques 2, ed. Susan Shwartz, Avon, 1989
  The Man Who Tried to Get Away (as Reed Stephens), Ballantine, 1990; (as Stephen R. Donaldson), Tor, forthcoming 2004
  The Gap into Conflict: The Real Story, Bantam/Spectra, 1991
  The Gap into Vision: Forbidden Knowledge, Bantam/Spectra, 1991
  "The Conqueror Worm," I Shudder at Your Touch, ed. Michele Slung, ROC/NAL, 1991
  The Gap into Power: A Dark and Hungry God Arises, Bantam/Spectra, 1992
  "Reave the Just," After the King, ed. Martin H. Greenberg, Tor, 1992
  "The Live Poets Society," Thinker Review, ed. Fielding and Whitehead, Summer 1992, Volume No. II
  "The Woman Who Loved Pigs," Full Spectrum 4, ed. Aronica, Stout, and Mitchell, Bantam/Spectra, 1993
  Strange Dreams (editor), Bantam/Spectra, 1993
  The Gap into Madness: Chaos and Order, Bantam/Spectra, 1994
  "The Kings of Tarshish Shall Bring Gifts," The Book of Kings, ed. Gilliam and Greenberg, ROC, 1995
  The Gap into Ruin: This Day All Gods Die, Bantam/Spectra, 1996
  Reave the Just and Other Tales, Bantam/Spectra, 1999
  The Man Who Fought Alone, Tor, 2001
  "The Aging Student of the Martial Arts," Shotokan Karate Magazine, ed. John Cheetham, #79, 2004
  The Runes of the Earth, Putnam (US), Orion (UK), October 2004
  Fatal Revenant, Putnam (US) October 9, 2007; Orion (UK) October 18, 2007
  Against All Things Ending, Putnam (US) October 19, 2010; Orion (UK) October 28, 2010
  "The Best of Stephen R. Donaldson," Subterranean Press, 2011
  The Last Dark, Putnam (US) Fall 2013; Orion (UK) Fall 2013
  "Epic Fantasy: Necessary Literature," The New York Review of Science Fiction, ed. Kevin J. Maroney, February 2015
  THE KING'S JUSTICE: Two Novellas, Putnams, October 2015
  The Augur's Gambit and The King's Justice, June 2016, Orion/Gollancz
  Seventh Decimate, Book One of "The Great God's War," Berkley, 2017
  The War Within, Book Two of "The Great God's War," Berkley, 2019
  The Killing God, Book Three of "The Great God's War," Berkley, 2022